CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Starting (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Crossfit after Mark Rippetoe's Starting Strength (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=1503)

Andres Diaz 08-23-2006 12:05 PM

The following lines describe my prospect for a lifelong training:
I've been lifting for 6 months of which 2 are SS. My long term goal is ~400kg on the squat+bench+deadlift. That should take me from 6 months to a year. After that, i'm going to switch to crossfit till i die or find something else.

My reasons:
- I think wearing a belt and straps for the lifts, once i reached an intermediate level, makes the whole thing artificial and not real life suited.
- I would like the cardiovascular and other parameters being enhanced by such a multifunctional training schedule without losing strength.
- SS and crossfit 3/7 are not compatible.

Am i somehow wrong for choosing crossfit given the requirements i set?

Jeremy Jones 08-23-2006 02:50 PM

Welcome to CrossFit!

I have been incorporating SS with my CrossFit and my sport training (martial arts).

For a couple weeks, I have been doing SS 3x per week per the book SS. I then do CF on the in-between days, taking every 3rd or 4th day off.

If I really feel drained, I may take an extra day off of CF, but I really try to stay consistent with the SS stuff (absolute strength is my weakness).

Granted, I have been doing CF for over two years fairly consistantly so I know how I respond to overtraining/under recovery. I feel comfortable tweaking my program.

If I were starting from a pure lifting background, with a goal like yours - I would be more likely to incorporate more CF as my body could handle it. Maybe do CF at half intensity (half reps, weight, time, or all three, etc). On your off days, or hours from your SS lifting workouts. You will have to be careful if you haven't been doing CF workouts before, the intensity is deceiving.