CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Community (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   ALTERNATIVE TRAINING FOR BODYBUILDERS (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=19560)

Mark Cotton 07-04-2007 09:11 PM

Hi Everyone---

I posted the information below on 3 bodybuilding boards that I'm active on. No one responded. I would appreciate your input. Thanks.

Hi Everyone

As a trainer I'm always looking for ways to improve my training methods and looking for ways to carry ideas into different sports specific training.

Since most everyone here bodybuilds I want to know if---

First, do you partake in other specific training in addition to your traditional training (off season or in season)? For instance, do you rock climb? Practice TKD? Speed skate? Cross fit?

Second, if you do, is it your opinion that it enhances your physique? or do you think that it would serve no purpose?

Let me know. I'm interested in what you have to say. Thanks.

Kevin McGuinness 07-04-2007 11:29 PM

Rugby! I play Sevens rugby in the summer which becomes my WOD every Tuesday and Thursday. In the fall I'll probably switch to strength training M-W-F, practice with the college team on Tuesday and Thursday.

Gerhard Lavin 07-05-2007 03:08 AM

I fence approx 3 day per week.

Fencing will do nothing to improve your physique except make your leading leg and arm slightly bigger than your trailing leg and arm. But it is good fun

Arden Cogar Jr. 07-05-2007 06:23 AM

I compete in Lumberjack Sports.

wonderful cardio and I do believe it helps my physique - or helps me fit into my suits and dress clothes.

I also am a daily practitioner of Yoga and Tai Chi. Don't know if they would help my rather ogre like physical appearance. But I believe they help with my calm and my athletism.

I also enjoy hiking. That too would be right up there with the lumberjack sports. Better than walking on a treadmill/etc.

All the best,
Arden