CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Fitness (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Why do you train? (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=31803)

Kristofer Shamloo 05-14-2008 04:50 PM

Why do you train?

To win the CF games? To look good naked? To stay healthy? Why do you train? And how?

I am training for BUD/S, I train on a 5 on 2 off schedule doing Dan John's "Rapid Ascent" program MWF, and I CrossFit TR. I had been doing pure CrossFit for a good 2 months but my strength needed some work, so I shifted gears a bit. Also my CrossFit days are rarely the prescribed WOD. I also try to run 3 of those days, it varies with accordance to when I go to the beach, nothing like barefoot and shirtless to turn heads! :D

So what motivates you?

Jennifer Bland 05-14-2008 05:08 PM

Re: Why do you train?

I train to stay healthy, but I train to save my life.

I have already encountered a person who was going to kill me and reach for my duty weapon. I was able to fight enough for my cover to help me. CF has made me a stronger person. CF has also helped me have the strength to keep going. Granted I was tired, but I went home alive.

Jenn

Tirzah Harper 05-14-2008 05:19 PM

Because the person I want to become is helped in those goals by CF.

I train because it brings me closer to being the person I aim to be.

My motivations include everything from vanity to sheer stubborn will. It's all good.

Nick Gagnon 05-14-2008 05:36 PM

I want to eventually be very competitive in Kettlebell Sport and I am probably going into Law Enforcement.

Also, because I am able to and I want to push myself as far as I can go.

Kristofer Shamloo 05-14-2008 05:37 PM

Yeah vanity is big for me, I want to be, look, and feel strong.

Geoff Sallee 05-14-2008 05:39 PM