CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Health and Medical Issues (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Massage made me feel sick, WTF? (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=64657)

Stephen Eugene Williams 01-28-2011 04:17 PM

Massage made me feel sick, WTF?

I come to CF from a triathlon and martial arts background. I have been CFing for about 4 months and loving it. I always thought messages were a bunch of BS (only made you think they were doing anything not actually doing anything). But then again I thought crossfit was BS, after all how could Fran a 3 min workout get me in better shape than my 4+ hour tri workouts. So in my fully embracing CF, I started zoning and reading a lot of the journal articles. I came across the series of videos by Kelly Starrett about starching, midline stabilization and maintenance work through massage.

So I gave myself a massage by rolling/laying on balls for the first time. About two hours later, I felt like I had the flu. I read on the web why, toxins ect. What can I do to prevent this in the future? Also how long and how often should I do it? Also how much should it hurt? I have a high pain threshold, so I will keep going as long as I am making improvements, but how do I know when to stop?

Thanks for any info

Sean Dunston 01-28-2011 04:38 PM

Re: Massage made me feel sick, WTF?

It has never happened to me, but I understand this can happen from the release of lactic acid from an intense massage.

Treat such an intense massage the same way you treat an intense workout - be sure that you are plenty hydrated before and after the massage.

Katherine Derbyshire 01-28-2011 06:48 PM

I'd suggest massaging one area at a time, not the whole body at once. Give the body a chance to get rid of the toxins bit by bit.