CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Nutrition (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Bee pollen (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=71336)

Andrew Breyer 11-07-2011 03:47 AM

Bee pollen

Hello,

I am studying abroad in Greece, and at my local affiliate I got to talking with a member about bee pollen.

Supposedly the bee's in Athens collect excellent pollen, and as a nutritional supplement they are some sort of a "super food."

I have been searching around Google, and while I have seen pages that agree with this, it seems like everything I come across is written by someone trying to sell it.

Does anyone have experience taking bee pollen as a supplement? It's been sited to help everything from fat loss to memory to energy levels. I'm curious if anyone can support this first hand.

Wayne Riddle 11-07-2011 07:46 AM

Re: Bee pollen

If something sounds too good to be true then it probably doesn't live up to the claims.

Bee pollen has some benefits, not near as much as being pushed. Play with it and see how it works for you. I tried it for a couple of months and didn't notice any differences.

Ivan Wolfe 11-09-2011 02:37 PM

I've used Bee Pollen - but not for superfood benefits. I find that if I start consuming locally harvested bee pollen before and during allergy season, my allergies go way down (though they don't vanish).

Katherine Derbyshire 11-09-2011 03:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ivan Wolfe (Post 1003525)
I've used Bee Pollen - but not for superfood benefits. I find that if I start consuming locally harvested bee pollen before and during allergy season, my allergies go way down (though they don't vanish).

Just curious. Do you see the same benefits from local honey, or does it need to be concentrated pollen?

Katherine

Ivan Wolfe 11-09-2011 03:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Katherine Derbyshire (Post 1003544)