CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Nutrition (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Why aren't beans and peas paleo? (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=57599)

Jeremy Raffer 04-24-2010 07:18 AM

Why aren't beans and peas paleo?

I'm trying to figure this out so I can explain it to people. I understand that beans have phytates but I don't like that reason. If the paleo diet is the diet that the caveman ate. Than I have trouble believing that the caveman was conciously avoiding phytates. So why?

Mark E. Wallace 04-24-2010 09:47 AM

Re: Why aren't beans and peas paleo?

I'm no expert, but what I've read on legumes (incl. beans and peas) is that it's the phytates and lectins that are to be avoided.

From (wfs) http://www.healingcrow.com/dietsmain/paleo/paleo.html:

Quote:

Legumes:

Beans have been touted as the healthy