CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Injuries (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Laparoscopy/ Incisional Hernia Question (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=43292)

Jenny Davis 02-24-2009 08:36 PM

Laparoscopy/ Incisional Hernia Question

Hi,

I'm wondering if anyone out there has any experience with a laparoscopic surgery and/or incisional hernia. At the end of December I had a cyst removed laparoscopically, and the doctor told me to avoid exercise for four weeks, and lifting for 6, because of the hernia risk of the incisions (small, but went through abdominal fascia). I tried to ask as many specific questions as possible, but my doctor basically just said "take it easy."

I started lifting light at the 6-week mark, and since the 8-week mark I've been working out harder, but still avoiding heavy ab work. Does anyone have suggestions for ways to build core strength back without damaging weak spots in fascia? Or, does anyone have experience to tell me what the warning signs are that I need to back off from an exercise?

Any advice much appreciated!

take care,
Jenny

Thomas Prewitt 03-09-2009 10:24 AM

Re: Laparoscopy/ Incisional Hernia Question

Jenny, I am a surgeon and do laparoscopic surgery regularly. Postoperatively, I tell patients to do whatever they want to do, whenever they want to do it, whenever they feel like doing it.
It is hard to give medical advice to someone elses's patient, so please don't take my comments for more than they are intended. I just haven't had problems with port site hernias and believe that most of the restrictions given to patients for limited activities after surgery are not based on good data.

Blake Bush 03-09-2009 11:30 AM