CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Nutrition (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Can't Lose Belly Fat (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=66362)

Brett Cassel 04-09-2011 01:12 PM

Can't Lose Belly Fat

All -

I've been doing Crossfit now for quite a few years and I've been unable to get my body to look totally lean. I'm 29 years old, 6'0", 170 pounds. I workout 3-5 times per week, depending on my work schedule, but most of the times it's five times.

A typical day for me diet-wise would be oatmeal and a protein shake after my morning workout; either a turkey sandwich with cashews and an apple, or tuna with cashews and an apple for lunch; and, some type of meat and vegetable for dinner.

I usually drink on the weekends, but I've been trying to cut back the amount, but haven't noticed a real difference with how this has affected me.

I have pretty well defined upper abdominals, but I still carry a bit of a spare tire and my pecs aren't as tight as would like them.

Does anyone have any advice? Am I eating wrong? Do I need to eat more? I feel like there are a lot of other Crossfitters out there that look better than I do, and I don't understand what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks.

Joe Bernard 04-09-2011 01:24 PM

Re: Can't Lose Belly Fat

It's hard to say if you are eating enough since you don't give amounts, but unless dinner is big then it looks like it's not enough; your food quality could be better. Ditch the oatmeal and protein powder, and have some real food in the morning: eggs, bacon, fruit, leftover meat from dinner last night, etc. At lunch, get rid of the bread and have more vegetables and fat instead of it. Also, how many drinks do you have on the weekend? Drinking a fair amount can definitely stop fat loss. Do you have cheat meals too?

Jonathan Vechet 04-09-2011 01:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brett Cassel (Post 924336)
All -