CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (https://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Workout of the Day (https://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   WOD Substitutions/Template Adherence (https://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=24188)

Bill Ennis 11-27-2007 07:08 AM

WOD Substitutions/Template Adherence

I have a question for everyone regarding WOD substitutions. I've been doing crossfit for about 8 months and currently have a nagging case of golfers elbow. I've been resting it and avoiding almost all pullups which aggravated it in the first place. Then we have a WOD like yesterday-weighted pullups. What I've done in the past if I needed to sub a WOD is just look for one that I like ; for example one with rowing. Yet I read the 2/03 Crossfit Journal about WOD templates and thought maybe I should try and stick closer to the template.
For example , weighted pullups looks like a pure gymnastics day (G) ; maybe also W for weightlifting . So , if I want to sub should I look for a WOD that looks like it matches it- a pure G day ?/ or a GW day depending on how you view it ?
Or am I making too big of a deal out of it ?
Any thoughts/ comments are appreciated.
Bill

Steven Low 11-27-2007 12:34 PM

Re: WOD Substitutions/Template Adherence

I would say rest. You only get one body.

If I can't do a WOD because of an injury to a major joint I don't even try. Just find something else you can do with the non-injured parts of your body.

BTW, there's no really good subs that match weighted pullups except maybe weighted rows.. maybe iron cross or front lever. Except those are still all rough on your elbows.

Frederic Giraud 11-27-2007 12:39 PM

Steven would you consider weighted pullups a G day or a W day?

Even though it is a gymnastic move ( kind of), I felt like it would be more in the W category since its heavy weight

Thanks in advance

Bill Scott 11-27-2007 04:21 PM