CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Starting (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Weight Belts? (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=48084)

Steve Bitsko 06-25-2009 09:24 AM

Weight Belts?

I am new to the CF world. I enjoy and look forward to every WOD. In all the exercise demos I do not see the athletes wearing a weight belt while performing lifts, squats, and other lower back intense exercises. My question is, should we wear weight belts while performing these exercises? If not, why?

Steven Ngo 06-25-2009 09:32 AM

Re: Weight Belts?

i personally don't because if my whole body can't handle the weight, then that given weight is too heavy and I scale down instead of adding outside support (straps, gloves, lifting belts, etc.).

Heck, i'd go barefoot ancient greek fig leaf nekkid if the gym allowed it.

Jamie J. Skibicki 06-25-2009 09:46 AM

If you need to, use it, if not, don't. I use a weight belt on heavy squats, especially if I sprinted the day before.

Tony Arms 06-25-2009 09:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steven Ngo (Post 613885)
i personally don't because if my whole body can't handle the weight, then that given weight is too heavy and I scale down instead of adding outside support (straps, gloves, lifting belts, etc.).

That's an interesting way to look at this debate that i've never thought of...Damn it, now i've got to rethink things.

Steve Bitsko 06-25-2009 10:52 AM

Quote:

So really it is just a personal choice?

Tony Arms 06-25-2009 10:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve Bitsko (Post 613925)
So really it is just a personal choice?