CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Fitness (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Let's revamp the CF Warmup (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=31296)

Michael Bell 05-04-2008 07:36 PM

Let's revamp the CF Warmup

In my opinion, a good warmup is essential to having a good workout. I am fairly new to CF, but the official CFWU doesn't seem to be very good. I am pretty sure that few people actually do it before the WOD:

The "official" CrossFit Warm-up is in the April 2003 CrossFit Journal.

3 rounds of 10-15 reps of
Samson Stretch (do the Samson Stretch once each round for 15-30 seconds)
Overhead Squat with broomstick
Sit-up
Back-extension
Pull-up
Dip
Note that for a workout that's dip or pullup-centric, you might want to do something else in the warmup.

This is almost a workout in itself (especially doing 30+ pullups). I think if you put "3 rounds for time of..." that this could be a WOD. I think, since CF has been around for quite some time, that we should revamp the warmup to make it more accessible and relevant to all Xfitters for everyday use.

My proposal is straightforward, focusing on dynamic stretching principles while getting your core body temperature up. With this I haven't tired myself out before I even get started.

Mike's unofficial CFWU:

1/2 mile jog
Trace circles in the air with arms - 10 small, 10 full range of motion, both arms
Stretch quads and hamstrings - dynamic stretches
5 pullups, 10 pushups, 15 squats (i.e. 1 round of Cindy)
Stretch groin, calves - dynamic stretches
5-10 Dips
2 samson stretches, 1 for each leg

Let me know what you think... or post something better, I think it's time to revamp the warmup!

Douglas Smith 05-04-2008 07:45 PM

Re: Let's revamp the CF Warmup

Hey Mike I would nix the jog and add more stretching. However stretching before the workout is really all I do. Usually works out pretty good for me.