CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Fitness (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   CrossFit doesnt work... (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=46508)

Mike Wright 05-13-2009 02:06 AM

CrossFit doesnt work...

I am an AF Instructor @ Airman Leadership School @ Fairchild AFB, WA. Every class, I have a captive group of 20-25 students for 5 1/2 weeks who I can subject to any form of PT I wish. I am in a unique position to test elements of CF methodologies on a broad and random section of military members and have been doing so for the past 9 months.

Naturally, based on all that I have heard about the short/long term benefits to overall GPP from CF, I expected an increase to students scores on the Air Force PT test after having been through the program. I just always assumed that the students were in better shape when they left. But once I started tracking before and after data, that expectation is not panning out. Some scores are up, but most are down.

My hope is to lay out the program and open it up to critique/criticsm to find out what I might do to achieve my goal...

Basics: The program is what I call CrossFit"ish", it uses the basic methodologies but has to be scaled to meet the fitness level your average E-4 AF member. We have a hopper of three basic type of movements: Bodyweight (gymnastics), Weighted Bar (weightlifting), & Isometrics (holds). Each PT session, using standard programming an Instructor develops a WOD from the hopper, using combinations of BW/WB movements - WODs are timed and scored. Each session will usually end the session w/an ISO that is also scored.

Summary of Hopper movements:
Bodyweight - Run, sprint, air squat, burpee, broad jump, bronco, push-up, sit-up, flutterkick, jacksquat, lunge, box jump, bear crawl, low-crawl, jumping squat, ninja push-up.

Weighted bar - OH squat, OH lunge, thruster, sdhp, crunchbar, floorwiper, front squat, back squat.