CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (https://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Injuries (https://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Physical therapy/Sciatic nerve (https://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=77743)

David M Welton 09-16-2012 09:30 PM

Physical therapy/Sciatic nerve

I injured my sciatic nerve on Aug 20th and just started PT last week. I went twice and im going twice this week. After that I was told I was going back to work. I have heard that a sciatic nerve injury could take up to 6 months to heal. I was wondering if going to the PT only 4 times will even help. I still have a lot of pain some days and most days I can deal with it with meds. What should I do? I work in law enforcement and im worried I can hurt my back even more if the doctors just put a "band-aid" on my injury. Thanks for the help.

Brian Strump 09-17-2012 02:04 PM

Re: Physical therapy/Sciatic nerve

There are alot of variables....mainly does the doctor know what he's doing, and do you follow through with what you're told to do and not do.

Who told you that you injured your sciatic nerve? Did you get an MRI?

Is this a Work Comp case? If so, I wouldn't plan on getting the optimal care for your injury. Every states policies are different, most do not favor the injured.

In 4 visits you may or may not see results....You would hope to at least seen some temporary improvement in that time.