CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Starting (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   warm ups (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=36700)

Jason Gregg 09-05-2008 01:09 PM

warm ups

I just started crossfit last week and have always been told not to do the same muscle every day and to let them rest. My question is, is it ok to do the same warm up every day or should i try to do alternate ones?

Andy Gann 09-05-2008 01:44 PM

Re: warm ups

Quote:

My question is, is it ok to do the same warm up every day or should i try to do alternate ones?
First - welcome!! It's good to see another East Tennessean on the boards ... even if you are from cocke county! :D

I'm not an expert but the warm up is just that - a warm up. It is not a work set nor meant to put strain on the muscles to the point that they need recovery.

I do the same workout everyday - with a little variation.

1 or 2 rounds of:
10 x
situps
push ups
supermans
pull ups (2 sets of 5)
dips
squats (sometimes OHS w/ PVC)

then - sometimes I will do some double-unders, jog in place, high knees, butt kicks, etc ...

Hope that helps!

:welcome:

Steve Yu 09-05-2008 03:37 PM

Jason,

Welcome!

The "don't train the same muscle groups on consecutive days" theory derives from the body-building methodology which gets de-constructed a lot around here. Spend some time on the boards, watching the videos and you'll get a GREAT understanding of the CF methodology and how it contrasts with body-building.