CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (https://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Fitness (https://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Best SS + CF hybrid? (https://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=26683)

Erik Eliassen 01-26-2008 09:47 AM

Best SS + CF hybrid?

Hey folks. Sorry if I'm annoying anyone by asking this, as I've seen the question of how to blend SS into your CF routine pop up here a fair few times.

[B]Short story:[/B]
I want to gain mass and strength, and I am wondering how to best do it when you're already very active.

[B]Long story:[/B]
I've been doing CF + zone for only a couple of months, and already the results are amazing. My numbers on the bw exercises has just exploded. Pre-CF I used to be able to do only 6-10 pull-ups. Last "Lynne" I did 23 on the first set, and 15 rounds last "Pullup Ladder".
Last Cindy was 18,5 rounds, Michael sub 19 min etc. But then theres my CFT.. Only 500 lbs. And there are still many exercises I struggle to do as rx'ed.

I'm 6'0" and I weigh in at only 148 lbs, so it may not be very surprising that strength is lacking. As it feels as my biggest weakness, I want to work to improve it. Last "Fran" I spent 15,07 min on, and out of those 15 min its probably 10 min resting from how much rx'ed thrusters are killing me. I was still really sore from 400m lunges though. I still cant do any of the bench press workouts as rx'ed, and there are heaps of other barbell exercises I have to scale down as well.

Obviously I should gain some mass as I'm a skinny bastard :shrug:

Now I have ordered SS from Amazon, but I live in Europe so it will probably take a while. I'm looking to interprate it into my workout schedule, which is CrossFit 3 days + 1 rest as posted on the website + martial arts:

[I][U]Monday:[/U][/I]
Boxing + Krav Maga
[I][U]Tuesday:[/U][/I]
Boxing + MMA
[I][U]Wednesday:[/U][/I]
Krav Maga
[I][U]Thursday:[/U][/I]
Boxing
[I][U]Fri, Sat, Sun:[/U][/I]
Weekend, time for some rest, aye?