CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Nutrition (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Please help me clean up my diet (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=43340)

Luke Hale 02-26-2009 05:01 AM

Please help me clean up my diet

Hi everyone, sorry for the long post - your time is appreciated.

I'm new to the world of CF but have been exercising since xmas - circuits class once a week, running 6-8 miles a week and doing bodyweight and dumbell workouts at home

I'm male, age 28, 5'10", 200lb

my main goal at the moment is to get stronger and fitter, and to get back from a 36" waist to 32"

I've tried to clean up my diet and am having only one cheat meal a week and tried to cut out as much processed food as possible, whilst at the same time trying to keep to foods that both myself and my fiancee are happy to eat - ie no zone diets or anything

don't have a lot of time to prepare meals for the day, and don't have a big shopping budget - I just want my (our) diet to be as clean as possible, but not complicated.

my biggest problem is I always feel hungry within half an hour of eating something, but I feel like i'm eating too much!

Here's what I eat in a typical day:

7am - Branflakes, 1/2 banana, 1% milk

10.30am - PB sandwich (wholemeal bread), banana, nuts & raisins

Lunch: baked potato with 180g tuna with 2 tbsp mayo or cheese & baked beans (1/2 can)

4pm: strawberry yogurt, 2 ricecakes, apple

Dinner: lettuce, tomato, red pepper, carrot, small baked sweet potato (yam?) 2 tbsp coleslaw with either 2 boiled eggs or some sort of meat or chicken or sausages

I drink about 3 litres of water throughout the day, and maybe 2 cups of black coffee (no sugar)

to me this feels like I'm eating a lot, but makes me wonder why I'm still hungry so often!

I'm thinking of ditching the yogurts and ricecakes and maybe adding some whole milk - maybe having that on cereals and a glass with each snack