PDA

View Full Version : Another Rhabdo victim - long post

Alison Burke
06-22-2012, 09:49 AM
I've been doing Crossfit for almost two years - 44 y.o. female, only known medical issue is being hypothyroid (controlled). Prior to crossfit I did weightlifting for about 20 years (and I'm not talking about that circuit training stuff - I mean squats, deadlifts, bench etc). I'm always cautious at the gym mostly because I'm fearful of injury and figure that it just isn't worth it. I want to be fit and strong but I'm not 20 nor do I plan on going to the games. I'm Ok with using a band, OK with a smaller box, OK with 10 pound less that I could probably do.

Despite all this I developed a case of rhabdo after this past weekend's workout of Angie (which for the record I've done before). In my usual cautious way I used a thick green band for the pullups but that clearly wasn't enough. Neither my abs nor my legs even got sore but three days after the workout my left arm/bicep area swelled up. I knew something wasn't right about that and played intenet doctor and saw a post with pictures of a trainer who got rhado and her arm looked exactly like mine.

Got in to see a doctor (not my regular guy) day 3 post-workout. First doctor did not believe I had rhabdo,( I asked specifically) didn't even test but sent me for an ultrasound to check for blood clots. Day four I decided to call my regular dr and ask for CPK test. Came back at 27000. BTW -for anyone not having experienced this, I never had the tell-tale brown pee.