PDA

View Full Version : Re: Patella Tendonitis

Matt Bennett
08-15-2011, 06:43 AM
About 3 months ago I was diagnosed with Patella Tendonitis and seems to just not be going away. Anyone have success with beating this....I have been resting, iceing..etc...but still aches and feels week just south of the knee cap. Should I begin strengthening now and does have anyone have some good exercises. I have been crossfiting for a few years and running for 16 and I think it's just an overuse injury. Thoughts???

Megan Zetter
08-15-2011, 07:45 AM
About 3 months ago I was diagnosed with Patella Tendonitis and seems to just not be going away. Anyone have success with beating this....I have been resting, iceing..etc...but still aches and feels week just south of the knee cap. Should I begin strengthening now and does have anyone have some good exercises. I have been crossfiting for a few years and running for 16 and I think it's just an overuse injury. Thoughts???

What have you been doing the past 3 months? Any rehab?

Matt Bennett
08-15-2011, 08:32 AM
Like most stubborn people I continued doing my regular routine of crossfit coupled with running. I definitely backed off my mileage but that was about it up until 3 weeks ago when the acheing/weakness just got to be too much. I was given some pensaid (anti-inflammatory medication) by ortho that you directly apply to the area three times and day and also purchased and begin taking liquid fish oil with no results. I stretch frequently and am very flexible so I don't believe this is a flexibility issue. Lastly, I have been doing a lot of myofascial stuff on my foam roller twice per day. Ortho took x-rays and everything looked perfect in there. Not sure if I should start strengthening yet or continue to rest or what....

Scott Tredennick
08-15-2011, 08:45 AM