PDA

View Full Version : Shin Splints

Bill Gibson
07-20-2010, 09:28 AM
Hi all. I have chronically suffered from shin splints. I try not to run more than 15-20 miles a week. I have recently tried the exercises in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=diDwjLN1UEU

I was wondering if anyone had anymore helpful tips or exercises for dealing with this problem. Thanks for any advice!

Brian Negrotto
07-20-2010, 12:34 PM
I use to suffer with shin splints big time. I tried all sorts of stuff. Usually what would happen was they would go away only if I completely took off, then I would start running again and they would be right back. Since around last November I started learning about POSE running and barefoot running and since then, I haven't had any problems at all, none!! I highly recommend it. Do the research and it will pay off.

Brett Gamble
07-20-2010, 01:05 PM
Hi Bill,

I have used a frozen bottle of water as a foot rolling device. You simply freeze a water bottle and roll your foot over it as you sit at your desk or when you get 10 or 15 minutes spare time. This technique stretches the foot, the achilles, and ices the lower leg which I believe all add tension to the calves and shin. I have also found that stretching the upper leg, glutes and lower back can alleviate tension in the lower leg. Lastly, some foam roller exercises on the shins may assist you as well.

Jason Hough
07-20-2010, 07:04 PM
I use to suffer with shin splints big time. I tried all sorts of stuff. Usually what would happen was they would go away only if I completely took off, then I would start running again and they would be right back. Since around last November I started learning about POSE running and barefoot running and since then, I haven't had any problems at all, none!! I highly recommend it. Do the research and it will pay off.

That's pretty much my story too! No pain at all from my first 50 miler after switching to the POSE method.

Bill,