PDA

View Full Version : Time off

Michael Gibbons
11-22-2009, 04:16 PM
Hey all, I have been doing Crossfit as a back yard privateer for roughly 3 months now, and I really dig it. I've lost thirty pounds, and started to recover the body I had before my last high-stress job 4 years ago.

Anyhow, one of the things I loved about crossfit was that with the varied exercises, I wouldn't aggravate old injuries and get shut down. If I started to feel my IT band act up, there probably wasn't running the next day, for instance.

However, it seems to have now caught up with me, and I feel like I've broken everything all at once. My IT band is always tight, so I stretch it. My patellafemorral (sp?) issues (weak VMO) are very aggravating, and the PT isolation exercises aren't keeping up. And finally, between picking up climbing this summer, and the pullups, I've given myself elbow tendonitis. Tendonitis has always been a problem and is one of the things to sideline any athletics on my part very quickly (wrist issues for 3 years from computer-work, shoulders, wrists, elbows at other times).

So, I have decided to take some time off. Niggling injuries not going away, and feeling kind of beat generally, sounds like overtraining. I have also just started taking Cissus for the tendons.

So my questions are as follows:
What is the best way to cycle time off like this? one week, two weeks?
Any suggestions for this miserable climbing/pullup elbow going forward?

Thanks in advance for your time and feedback.

Mike, 38yo, 210lbs.

Steven Low
11-22-2009, 05:48 PM
Tendonitis...

Read this and do it wfs
http://www.eatmoveimprove.com/2009/08/on-tendonitis/

---------------------

As for IT band/PF you're going to have to strengthen your glutes and hammies, dig out trigger points in your TFL/quads and stretch them out significantly... probably stretch out calves and hamstings as well.

Currently posting up a series that covers a lot of this so stay tuned wfs