PDA

View Full Version : an immobilization boot suitable for the water?

Davi Cohen
08-30-2009, 04:46 PM
I'm a dancer/physical theater performer/yoga instructor/cyclist/lover of many athletic activities and Crossfitter (obviously).

I am currently healing a longitudinal tear in my posterior tibial tendon with the help of a very chic (though somewhat cumbersome) roboboot and crutches. After 6 weeks of dicking around with weight bearing, bicycling, and a ton of teaching barefoot every day pre-MRI (long story), I finally found out about the tendon split/tear and I'm treating it with the utmost care.

Part of my self-designed recovery program involves spending a day at the beach every week and plenty of time shvitzing in saunas. I'm also interested in doing some swimming in the pool (with one of those squeeze-between-your-legs floatation things, which, I must confess, seems a little daunting to me who doesn't swim very often).

Are there any folks who've had experience with this sort of thing and/or PTs who might be able to recommend a particular boot suitable for heat and/or water?

I'm going to consult with my PTs this week, but I thought I'd check in with the Crossfit community too.

Right now I'm using a borrowed aircast that's got quite a bit of foam cushioning on the inside (without which it cannot be secured around my foot and leg).

Is there an ankle immobilization device designed for the water?

Thanks in advance!

Kevin Trangone
08-30-2009, 05:37 PM
The only thing I can think of that may help is by wrapping your ankle. It may not hold it as rigidly as a boot, but it should offer a little support.

Davi Cohen
08-30-2009, 07:31 PM
Thanks Kevin. It's not so much support, per se, that I need; but actual immobilization. For the first time since the inflammation/tendinopathy/split symptoms appeared in early July (right before I competed in the Affiliate Cup!) I have virtually no pain in my ankle now that I'm not weight bearing and not doing any deep flexion.