PDA

View Full Version : Pull-up bars and calluses?

Mike Darley
06-13-2009, 02:10 PM
Pretty much everytime I do pull-ups I either get a blister or a callus from a previous blister tears off. I know, I know. The typical advice is just tape it, glue it, suck it up and eventually your hands will toughen up. But I've been doing CF for about 4 months now, and it seems like I'm having more issues with this than the average person.

This leads me to wonder if the issue isn't my pull-up bar itself. The bar diameter is 3/4" and it is wrapped with some gaffing tape. Up until recently I was using chalk for pull-ups, which I heard was a no-no, so I stopped. I'm just wondering if there's something about the bar itself that might hurting my hands. Or should I just give it more time? Thanks, in advance.

Brian Collins
06-13-2009, 06:16 PM
Well I'll probably get made fun of or flamed for this but my buddies wife just sent some "lynx grips" to us here in Iraq as our hands are continuously getting more and more torn up. The first time we used them (for pull ups) we were amazed. They're basically just oval shaped rubber pads that grip both bar and hands and they reduce strain and pain on your hands by about 95%.

These work for some weight lifting as well but for most movements, we just use chalk. For pullups though, they're just about invaluable.

They can be purchased on bodybuilding.com *WFS* and cost about 10 bucks or so. Seriously made us so much happier as now our hands will be able to heal and we'll be that much more effective.

Hope this helps and I understand if everyone thinks these aren't manly! HAHA

Carl Hill
06-13-2009, 07:19 PM
I had the same problem, but eventually (you have to be patient, it may take a few more months) your hands will callus over and the calluses will just peel and callus over again, but there is no pain or exposed underskin. Another thing you can do in the meantime is switch to more of a finger grip and not have as much palm on the bar.

Brian Solar