CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Competitions
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Competitions Competitions, contests & challenges

Old 03-07-2014, 09:00 AM   #1
Eric R Cohen

Profile:
Transgender Games Competitor?

http://www.cnn.com/2014/03/07/us/tra...html?hpt=hp_t3 WFS

Not sure if this will get bumped from the forum, if so I apologize, but I think it's an interesting debate.
On the one hand, I agree that someone born a male would have an advantage. On the other hand, the state of california and the olympics say otherwise.
Tough call for CF HQ, imagine the outcry if she won, or even bumped someone born female from regionals.
But I also think this goes against Coach Glassman's libertarian philosophy of the value of the individual (though I'm no expert no his views or being a libertarian ;-)...or maybe it is consistent as government should have no say in his business...

Curious what the community thinks...
Old 03-07-2014, 09:07 AM   #2
Snir Golan

Profile:
Re: Transgender Games Competitor?

I am going to say exactly what i said about the transgender MMA fighter that wanted to fight in the Women's category: i don't like it and i think that it shouldn't be allowed. there are physical differences that give a male athlete a distinct advantage and it really isn't fair to the female athletes.
Old 03-07-2014, 09:16 AM   #3
Chuck Golden

Profile:

I'm gonna say what probably 90% of the population should say, I have no idea. I don't have the training or education to have the slightest clue as to whether or not this athlete would have an advantage. I'll leave that up to someone that does have that training or education.
Old 03-07-2014, 09:40 AM   #4
Jonathan Legaspi Ibarra

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Golden View Post