CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 06-21-2013, 06:55 AM   #1
Patrick Marshall

Profile:
Sore Back

Hey everyone. I am new to CrossFit within the past month, and I wanted to know the best way to stretch out my back. For the past week I have had a pretty stiff / sore back, and I think it might be just from doing exercises. and working muscles I haven't in a while. Is a foam roller the way to go, or just making sure I do good stretching before and after WODs?

Thanks!
Old 06-21-2013, 07:40 AM   #2
Mark E. Wallace

Profile:
Re: Sore Back

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Marshall View Post
Is a foam roller the way to go, or just making sure I do good stretching before and after WODs?
There's no "the way" to go.

Foam rolling and stretching are both effective and recommended.

- Mark
Old 06-21-2013, 07:41 AM   #3
Kainoa Bostock

Profile:

The Sampson stretch usually gets my back pretty good.
Old 06-21-2013, 08:09 AM   #4
Blair Robert Lowe

Profile:

Hang, swing legs side to side or back and forward at the hips (pike/arch).

Hang upside down from knees on bar or rings. Move around.

Inversion table.

Scorpion stretch on floor

Windshield wipers in tuck or pike on floor or just lay there with legs to one side for time.
Old 06-21-2013, 11:50 AM   #5
John H Curtis

Profile:

All comments so far are good.

Clarifying question:

1) Whole back or a specific area (or areas)? I ask because my first time using kettlebells (well before I got into CF) I had terrible form and ended up having severe soreness/strain in my lower back. If you are having severe soreness in specific areas, might be a form issue and you should get with a coach on it.

Consider ice packs too for 15 or so minutes on the sorest areas right after the workout - cold is generally good for helping speed recovery.