CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 04-14-2013, 01:05 PM   #1
John Hamilton

Profile:
CrossFit Level 1 Course Review - March 2013

Pre-Course Info

Having recently completed the CrossFit Level 1 Certificate course, I thought I’d leave an up to date review to hopefully help those who are due to attend in the near future or thinking about signing up. I completed the course at Reebok CrossFit Stockport (near Manchester, UK) over the weekend 23 - 24 March 2013.

To give a gauge of my experience I am 29 years old and I have been training using CrossFit methodology for 6 months now, of which 4 months has been at an affiliate. I am in the military and have always been physically active.

As far as preparation for the course is concerned my only study material was the CrossFit Training Guide, which contains most of the theory covered during the course. Some exposure to CrossFit prior to the course would be beneficial however it is not a show stopper if you haven’t had any, there were a couple of people on this course who had no exposure to CrossFit and got by just fine.

The Course

The course itself was a mixture of theory lectures and practical breakout groups where we covered the core concepts and methodology as well as the 9 foundation movements; additional to the foundation movements we also covered ring muscle ups, snatch, kipping pull-ups and the Glute-Ham Developer (GHD). The remaining course content was nutrition (zone diet & paleo), programming and of course the test (get to that later). At my level 6 months into CrossFit I found the programming lecture to be the most beneficial, it opened my eyes to an area that you normally don’t have to think about when using an affiliate.