CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 01-20-2013, 02:35 PM   #1
Kevin Yun

Profile:
Post What supplements to take to get the best results

Hey everyone

I have been doing crossfit for 5 months and have significant improvements to my strength and fitness. I am currently training for the 2013 open.

To get best results, what kind of supplements should I take/ could you guys recommend? I have no experience at all when it comes to supplements which could increase my production rate.

I try to train twice a day monday to friday and do a session on saturday with rest on sunday.

I have been using protein shakes for about two months but since Christmas haven't used it.. but will get back into using protein powders.

I've heard of Amino X and other recovery and muscle gaining supplement products from BSN.

Finally, what supplements from your guys experience is best for promoting fat loss/increase fat burning rate

Cheers

Kevin
Old 01-20-2013, 06:49 PM   #2
Chris Mason

Profile:
Re: What supplements to take to get the best results

You don't need protein shakes unless your diet is for some reason deficient in protein. Protein shakes are primarily supplements of convenience (i.e. it is easier to drink one right after you train than to eat something).

If you want the supplements to make a difference (and that are safe):

Creatine monohydrate (as pure as possible)
Beta-Alanine
Citrulline malate
Caffeine

I also have a unique product called ETS.
Old 01-20-2013, 07:06 PM   #3
Dan Thomas

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Mason View Post
You don't need protein shakes unless your diet is for some reason deficient in protein. Protein shakes are primarily supplements of convenience (i.e. it is easier to drink one right after you train than to eat something).