CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 07-11-2012, 01:44 AM   #1
Marc Juliano

Profile:
Low Back pain only at night while i sleep, cant sleep... HELP!

Hi Everyone,

Its 3am and this is probably 12th night of terrible sleep due to low back pain. Figured I'd post instead of rolling around in bed looking at the ceiling... Also icing the back atm, feels a little better.

So the pain started about a week or 2 before i started Xfitting again, most likely happened at work while lifting up a patient ( I am a firefighter/paramedic). I do have a herniated L5/S1 and a bulged L4/L5 from 2009 MRI, work injury of course.

Anywho, i had been sleeping great prior to this for a few months, march/april/may were notably good. Slept like a baby most nights without any meds. Sometimes i will take a Mobic to help me sleep with 50mg of benadryl to knock me out. Even that is not working. After an hour or 3 i start tossing and turning b/c the low back tightens up and gets into about a 2/10 on the pain scale and is a constant dull ache.

I have been foam rolling my back 2x/day for over 2 years now but even that doesnt seem to touch this. Aside from breaking out my inversion table i am out of ideas. I am a big chiro propponent and like to go once every week or so. Have not been getting much movement since this started up though and especially not one of those magical adjustments where it pops and your in instant bliss because it was exactly what you needed.

I stretch out after my workouts
Foam roll upon waking/before bed
Sleep with 2 pillows under my knees
And i havent done anything in particular that made me go "ouch"
After a few hours sleep back goes into a 2/10 tightness/ache that keeps me awake, meds/no meds
Zero pain all day and while working out
Going light/careful on all my lifts