CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-03-2012, 11:32 AM   #1
Austin Dietz

Profile:
Feeling New

I'm three days into doing crossfit and I have not done such hard of workouts in my life. I've been lifting since I was a sophomore in high school and now am currently playing college football. I just want to get more toned and lose weight. Also Im a beginner, training to do a 5k called the color run. Is crossfit the way to go in order to reach my goals? Which are to tone up, lose weight and be able to run the 5k?
Old 05-03-2012, 01:30 PM   #2
Brian Androsian

Profile:
Re: Feeling New

What are your stats? Height/weight/bf% if you know it

If you're a football player, look at crossfit football. It's geared toward, you guessed it, football players. Don't worry about toning up, worry about getting stronger and the "toning" will come on it's own.

Don't sweat a 5k. Just start running and you'll be fine when it comes. I did the first one of my life a couple months ago after not running in months and only jogging the week before and I finished middle of the pack. They're no biggie if you don't mind running.
Old 05-03-2012, 02:13 PM   #3
Eric Montgomery

Profile:

What do your football coaches say about you wanting to lose weight and run a 5K? Those goals don't seem to match up with football very well.

Agree with Brian--CFFB is designed for people in your exact situation. And if you're used to doing hard conditioning workouts, a 5K isn't something you really need to train for unless you're trying to go sub-18:00 or something.
Old 05-06-2012, 01:46 PM   #4
Austin Dietz

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Androsian View Post
What are your stats? Height/weight/bf% if you know it