CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 02-24-2012, 03:10 PM   #1
Nichole Palmisano

Profile:
No way this works

So I am a 29 year old Female. 5'3 and 120 Lbs. I have been working out for about 10 years. I just can't see how Crossfit WOD's can make me lean and fit. I feel like the workouts are so short that i won't get any benefit from it. I have mostly done only cardio with one or two days of strength training. I'm looking to tone up (not bulk) and get rid of some jiggle. I know the WOD isn't going to be enough to achieve this. So i guess my question is what else should I be doing in addition to the WOD? All the pictures i see of these girls who look amazing by doing Crossfit have got to absoutely be doing someting else besides just the WOD.

Thank you
Nichole
Old 02-24-2012, 03:20 PM   #2
Brad Rasmussen

Profile:
Re: No way this works

Just do it for a few months and you'll see. It will be some of the hardest workouts that you have ever done, but it's addicting and fun. I was in a similar situation before I started crossfit, I did conventional weight training and some cardio. Thought I was in pretty good shape until I did my first wod. Give it an honest shot for a few months and you will be happily surprised. Also get proper rest and nutrition.
Old 02-24-2012, 03:35 PM   #3
Tommy Sittinger

Profile:

First and foremost, you need to practice nutrition as recommended by Crossfit. That is paramaount.

Second, many novices make the mistake of adding more programming, rather than taking on the WOD with 100% intensity. Really, giving the WOD 80-90% and then adding more volume to make up for lack of intensity gets much poorer results than just doing giving the WOD a true 100%.