CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 01-13-2012, 01:45 PM   #1
Steven Garcia

Profile:
Albany CrossFit: Revival Strongman (scary)

I'm new to CrossFit (started November '11) and have been hooked ever since. Before that, I was completely out of shape with two horrible knees. Since then, my chronic knee pain is gone and I've lost 20lbs of fat and replaced it with muscle.

So when I saw this video of CrossFit Albany / Crossfit Clifton Park, I was SHOCKED that their coach had filmed the lift and encouraged its participants to continue with the lift when it can be clearly seen that some could barely lift it.

I'll let the video speak for itself, but it's downright scary in my opinion.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=BDDyxXyf6UU

Thoughts on the video..? Any feedback is welcomed and appreciated.
Old 01-13-2012, 01:51 PM   #2
Rebecca Roth

Profile:
Re: Albany CrossFit: Revival Strongman (scary)

This has to be the 5th+ time this has been linked. The people in the video are doing a strongman lift called the continental with a large diameter bar, not a Olympic clean. What they are doing pretty much looks exactly what it's supposed to look like.

A proper continental:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1KZNo9LMxvE

Last edited by Rebecca Roth : 01-13-2012 at 02:01 PM.
Old 01-13-2012, 02:13 PM   #3
Steven Garcia

Profile:

Thank you for the clarification, I appreciate it. For some reason at first glance it just doesn't look... right (almost painful at that).
Old 01-13-2012, 03:11 PM   #4
Rebecca Roth

Profile:

Strongman is all about lifting to the absolute limit of one's strength with objects that are difficult to grip/carry, as such strongman lifts pretty much always do tend to look really awkward to downright painful.
Old 01-13-2012, 03:45 PM   #5
Eric Montgomery

Profile: