CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 11-01-2011, 03:54 PM   #1
Jeremy B Smith

Profile:
Rope climbs and shoulder pain

I experience some severe pain on the outer/backside of both shoulders when I rope climb. The strange thing is that it doesn't hurt that much when I'm pulling up, but much more so after I pull, and then release tension in my shoulders. That's when I get very sharp shooting pain, but it does not last long. I have been crossfitting for around 6 months now. Strict pullups, kips, butterflys, muscle-ups, toes to bar, none of that stuff causes the pain. Overhead movements don't really cause pain during the movement. If I do a lot of overhead squats, then the backside of my shoulder will be pretty sore for the next few days, but that's the extent of it.

I know there are a myriads of discussions on here regarding should problems, so I apologize if this has been discussed. I did a search and couldn't come up with anything similar. Any thoughts on what this may be or what I can do about it? I don't do rope climbs often, but this keeps me from doing them hardly any. I don't think it's a strength issue because I can do plenty of strict pullups, and have started incorporating more weighted pullups into my regular training. My current 3 rep max for weighted pullups is 45 pounds plus bodyweight of 145 lbs.

Thanks for any help,
Jeremy
Old 04-17-2012, 08:58 AM   #2
Russ Oliver

Profile:
Re: Rope climbs and shoulder pain