CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 01-02-2011, 11:01 AM   #1
Arthur Sheldon

Profile:
Slap Tear

Recently diagnosed with a SLAP tear in left shoulder. Big time bummer as significant progress was being seen with fran times and press, snatch, and cleans. I'm 42 and am deciding on surgery. Anyone out there been through this? Whats the recovery time - I've been crossfitting for 2+ years and want to get back to the overhead stuff as quickly as I can.
Old 01-02-2011, 11:26 AM   #2
Eric Montgomery

Profile:
Re: Slap Tear

Any idea what caused it? Were you doing lots of kipping pullups or kipping muscleups?
Old 01-02-2011, 12:28 PM   #3
Paul Richards

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur Sheldon View Post
Recently diagnosed with a SLAP tear in left shoulder. Big time bummer as significant progress was being seen with fran times and press, snatch, and cleans. I'm 42 and am deciding on surgery. Anyone out there been through this? Whats the recovery time - I've been crossfitting for 2+ years and want to get back to the overhead stuff as quickly as I can.
There are quite a few posts in this forum about SLAP tears and associated experiences, including a fair number of folks going through recovery right now. Just search for "SLAP"

In your case I woud prioritize on what needs doing now. Perhaps in this order:
  1. Stop doing any activity that causes pain and may increase injury
  2. Find the best Orthopaedist you can (one with sports injury experience)
  3. Work with ortho to determine if surgery is the right option for you
  4. Execute the plan as faithfully and patiently as possible
  5. Figure out the cause during rehab... You'll probably have a lot of time to do so.