CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 12-05-2010, 04:04 PM   #1
Damien Bauman

Profile:
Ideal Body Weight

I watched the video on the Crossfit Journal titled "Roundtable in Tahoe: Ideal Body Weight" and It brought up some interesting thoughts. I would like to discuss this further as I am new to crossfit.

I have about a month under my belt but I have a long history in athletics. As a competitor, the first thing I thought after looking into crossfit was driving myself to eventually try to compete in the crossfit games as a goal. I realized at 6'3 and 300lbs I would be faced with a potentially insurmountable challenge.

One of the best athletes I played football with over the years was guy who was near 400lbs in the Arena Football League. He probably could not be able to complete a WOD but none the less was an exceptional athlete.

Here are some questions I have for the community:

If the goal of the crossfit games is to search for the fittest athlete, where the events could be changed to benefit shorter, taller, heavier, or lighter athletes is the definition of ideal athlete defined by the challenge?

If Crossfit Total results can be compared by weight, should all of the Benchmark WODs or the Crossfit Games be done in the same manner?

Maybe I am just disappointed the my endeavor of my best personal fitness level will not even compare to some of the better crossfit athletes.
Old 12-06-2010, 11:44 AM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Re: Ideal Body Weight

It is what it is...

All of us with our genetics have different heights and "ideal" body weights that our bodies like to stay at.