CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 04-24-2010, 07:18 AM   #1
Jeremy Raffer

Profile:
Why aren't beans and peas paleo?

I'm trying to figure this out so I can explain it to people. I understand that beans have phytates but I don't like that reason. If the paleo diet is the diet that the caveman ate. Than I have trouble believing that the caveman was conciously avoiding phytates. So why?

Last edited by Jeremy Raffer : 04-24-2010 at 07:27 AM.
Old 04-24-2010, 09:47 AM   #2
Mark E. Wallace

Profile:
Re: Why aren't beans and peas paleo?

I'm no expert, but what I've read on legumes (incl. beans and peas) is that it's the phytates and lectins that are to be avoided.

From (wfs) http://www.healingcrow.com/dietsmain/paleo/paleo.html:

Quote:
Legumes:

Beans have been touted as the healthy