CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 03-22-2010, 03:05 PM   #1
Connor Thane

Profile:
Crossfit and Strength/Muscle Building

Ok guys so heres the deal. I'm new to crossfit.

I heard about it a couple years ago and thought it was complete hogwash, but after going to a sectional, watching the athletes, and interacting with a few affiliates, did a few works outs, it actually looks like something I could get in to.

Here's the deal though.

I like lifting. and I like lifting heavy.

But I also like the idea of having well-rounded metcon and gymnastic capabilities.

So this is my question.

What type of crossfit/supplemental programme do I need to follow in order to continually build strength and size, while maintaining a healthy metcon/gymnastic capabilities?

Now I know "Mass gaining" is sort of taboo around here, and I'm not actually looking to put on a TON of mass. My eventual MAX goal would be to add 20 lbs of lean mass, while trimming off excess body fat.

Here are my current stats for reference.

Height: 6'1"
Weight: 201lbs
BF%: 14%

1RM for the following -
Deadlift - 300lbs
Back Squat - 250lbs
Press - 160lbs
Bench Press - 230lbs

I'd like to add 200 or so lbs the deadlift and squat, atleast 50lbs to the press, and probably about 100lbs to the bench (I know it's not a "functional" exercise, it's just something I enjoy doing).

And before you get all "LEARN TO USE SEARCH" on me, I've searched just about every term I can think of and read up extensively on the following programs:

Rippetoes SS
Rutherfords MEBB
CFSB
CFFB

All of the topics go back and forth, but there is no definitive evidence either scientific or anecdotal to persuade me exactly what to do, but I am toying with the following routine

3 days on 1 day off doing the following

15 minute warmup