CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 02-23-2010, 07:49 AM   #1
Tobias Hall

Profile:
How does CrossFit affiliation differ from Franchising?

When I explain the CrossFit affiliation model to people some, as you probably also have experienced, say itīs like franchising. So I looked up the definition on franchising, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FranchisingYOU MUST ANNOTATE ALL LINKS WHETHER WORK AND FAMILY SAFE., and Iīm not sure I can tell the difference. Since itīs stated on crossfit.com that CrossFit isnīt franchising and never will be I got curious in what way CrossFit differs from franchising?

Can anyone help me straighten this out?
Old 02-23-2010, 08:04 AM   #2
Casey Raiford

Profile:
Re: How does CrossFit affiliation differ from Franchising?

I am by no means an expert on this or a lawyer by any stretch, but I'll take a crack at a practical example. Have you ever noticed that all McDonalds, KFCs and chain convenience stores looks the same, provide the same products and offer similar services? If you go to a few different CF boxes you'll notice that aside from some general similarities (e.g. equipment, terminology, etc) each box is it's own, unique animal. Some are more suburban-friendly, some are strength bias-oriented, some are partnered with MMA training and so on. Affiliation means you fall under the CF umbrella, are entitled to use the term "Crossfit" and can open a business as such (or run a military/non-profit). Aside from website requirements (have one, post a link to the CFJ, etc) there really aren't any other stipulations. Hope that helps.
Old 02-23-2010, 09:10 AM   #3
Katherine Derbyshire

Profile: