CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 10-24-2005, 12:10 PM   #1
Bryan Edge

Profile:
So after the "3 bars of Death" my lower back was a bit sore the following morning. Not debilitatin, but sore. Is this reasonably normal, or a sign that I lifted poorly or with too much weight?

I'm generally very conscious of form and try to lift as heavily as I can while maintaining it.

That said, I'm still relatively new to the O-lifts, and mostly learn by watching the videos.

Is a moderately sore lower back fairly normal (like a sore chest after benching, for example), or should I scale the weight down a bit more?

Thanks!
Old 10-24-2005, 01:40 PM   #2
Seth Orell, Jr.

Profile:
I was also sore after Linda. The muscles involved in the deadlift are developing, albeit slowly. My gauge to whether the soreness is normal or not is how I can function the next day. If I'm laid up on the couch - I've overdone it. If it doesn't affect my typical routine (WoD, work, life) then I just mutter softly about how "Linda worked me over last night" while raising eyebrows from my coworkers ;)
Old 10-24-2005, 02:10 PM   #3
Alex McClung

Profile:
I usually get sore in my traps after a good DL workout. I usually get sore in the lower back after losing good DL form.

Friday was my first 100% Linda, at BW = 220#. After the 8 rep round 330# was moving very slow and form was drifting badly. My back was fried all weekend. Not injured, but sore and stiff to the point of being very uncomfortable and not working out for 2 days.

I spent about 50 minutes today loosening up the lower back with light OHS work and have been pain-free the rest of the day.

Old 10-24-2005, 03:11 PM   #4
Chris Forbis

Profile:
Oh yeah. Linda leaves my lower back very tender for a few days.
Old 10-25-2005, 10:11 AM   #5
Nick Thomas