CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 08-19-2009, 11:28 AM   #1
Ernie Santamaria

Profile:
Tips for a better "Push press"

i did yesterdays WOD..

but i have never done this move before so after my warm up i practiced the move with just the olympic bar.

right away i noticed that after i cleaned the bar to me chest/shoulders, it felt like it was resting on my clavicles and not on my shoulders, and if i forced it to my shoulders the bar would hit my throat. Since there was no weight it was not an issue to hold the bar, but as i added weight it prevented me from going to a heavier weight.

also, and i think this is more of an issue with my squat, but ive read that "soft knees" are important to absorb the weight cleaned to the shoulders and after lock out above the head... well every time i lifted the weight to my shoulders i felt like i was rocking forward, same thing when bringing the weight down from above my head.

so i did the WOD but only did it with 115lbs because any weight i did after that felt like i was going to injure myself.

did i do the right thing by not forcing the heavier weight w/ poor(er) technique and how can i improve this move?

ALL replies are welcome!
Old 08-19-2009, 01:14 PM   #2
Roman Volf

Profile:
Re: Tips for a better "Push press"

I had the exact same problem, now my clavicle, especially the left side feels sore/bruised. I just couldn't get my shoulders forward/up enough to have the bar rest comfortably.
Old 08-19-2009, 08:08 PM   #3
Ernie Santamaria

Profile:

have you done anything to improve that move? i feel like i had to sacrifice the amount of weight i pressed because of this...
Old 08-19-2009, 08:21 PM   #4
Jesse Emers

Profile: