CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 07-22-2009, 11:03 AM   #1
Greg Light

Profile:
Good mornings vs Straight Leg Deadlift

What is the rationale for doing a good morning when straight leg deadlifts seem to accomplish the exact same thing and allow for much more comfort during sets?

Thanks in advance
Old 07-22-2009, 11:22 AM   #2
Sean Dunston

Profile:
Re: Good mornings vs Straight Leg Deadlift

I'm by no means an expert on this, but isn't one a push (bar held in place, on the back) and the other a pull (bar suspended below the body, hanging from the arms) -- thus working the muscles differently?
Old 07-22-2009, 11:37 AM   #3
Andrew H. Meador

Profile:

For one, long arms will shorten the ROM of all variations of deadlifts - not so with good mornings.
Old 07-22-2009, 11:38 AM   #4
Kenneth A Hinz

Profile:

Yes, good mornings work more of the lower back with st. leg deads more on the glutes and hamstrings...
Old 07-22-2009, 12:35 PM   #5
Mike Mallory

Profile:

good mornings/straight leg deadlifts are terrible for your back......I would never recommend them to anyone.

Reason being, the IT band will not be under tension unless the leg is bent to 20 degrees.

Try it. put your hand on the side of your leg while it's locked out.....then slowly start bending your leg, at around 20 degrees of knee flexion, the IT band will pop out. It may not be tremendously obvious, but you get the point.

If the IT band isn't under tension, then your glutes have nothing to grab onto, destabilizing the SI joint and the rest of the lumbopelvic structures.

Do romanians
Old 07-22-2009, 01:01 PM   #6
Jason Peacock

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Mallory View Post
good mornings/straight leg deadlifts are terrible for your back......I would never recommend them to anyone.