CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 07-20-2009, 07:57 PM   #1
Damien Del Russo

Profile:
CrossFit and/vs Yoga

After CrossFitting pretty faithfully for about 2 years, due to a variety of circumstances, I've been doing yoga for 3 months. During this time I've been doing a lot of mental comparing and contrasting between the workouts. I didn't think these thoughts would be of wider value...until some very interesting results the last couple weeks. I'd like to share my results, and though I don't think they prove anything definitively, I think they are valuable to anyone wondering what effect yoga might have on their health.

First let me stipulate that I was very inflexible during my CrossFit workouts, so my results may have been restricted by my limitations. At 36 yrs, 6' 1" and about 180 lbs throughout, I worked up to the following numbers:

[Before yoga]
Shoulder Press 1RM 117#
Back Squat 1RM 245#
Front Squat 1RM 185#
Deadlift 1RM 300#
Pull-Ups about 21 kipping
Weighted Pull-Up 1RM BW+75#
No L-Sits
No Hand-stand push-ups
No Hand-stands
Fran 10:36 as Rx'ed

So I would be somewhere below Intermediate in general - in good shape for a computer programmer, just mediocre in the CrossFit world.

I started doing yoga with a very tough teacher, Ning Harper in Calgary. I was a complete beginner but brought my CF work ethic and have been attending 4 or 5 1-hour sessions per week.

My flexibility has improved a ton, and I feel quite good overall. I'll present more contrasts below, but the big one for me is that I am never sore. CrossFit makes my muscles hurt! Sometimes I like it...other times it gets old.