CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 07-04-2009, 02:09 AM   #1
Scot Heyes

Profile:
What Constitutes as Active Rest?

I have been doing CrossFit for several months now, and I am still trying to get my head around rest and recovery. I have this subconscious thought that a day off will put me a day behind achieving new PR's.

What is active rest and when does this activity not become a recovery/rest day?
Old 07-04-2009, 10:24 AM   #2
Katherine Derbyshire

Profile:
Re: What Constitutes as Active Rest?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scot Heyes View Post
I have been doing CrossFit for several months now, and I am still trying to get my head around rest and recovery. I have this subconscious thought that a day off will put me a day behind achieving new PR's.

What is active rest and when does this activity not become a recovery/rest day?
If you're doing "active rest" because you're afraid taking a day off will set you back, you're probably going too hard. Active rest is stuff like walking, stretching, yoga, maybe tossing a frisbee around with friends, maybe gymnastics skill work. It does not involve a stop watch or any significant amount of weight.

Katherine
Old 07-04-2009, 11:15 AM   #3
Aushion Chatman

Profile:

I've always summed active rest up as aerobics...
Old 07-04-2009, 12:33 PM   #4
Alex Bond

Profile:

Quote:
I have this subconscious thought that a day off will put me a day behind achieving new PR's.
You don't get strong by lifting weights, you get strong by recovering from lifting weights. Never forget this. If I wake up and my legs and back are dead, I don't hesitate to skip the day's workout and nail tomorrow's rather than have ****ty workouts that don't really push me because I am too tired.
Old 07-04-2009, 02:46 PM   #5