CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 05-15-2009, 01:21 PM   #1
Emann Aquilina

Profile:
Equipment Advise - Elliptical bike vs Rowing Machine

Hi there,

I would like some advise on this situation with regards to getting new equipment.

I have a treadmill which is mostly used by my wife but lately, due to low back pain, the doctor advised her that this may be coming from too much impact from the treadmill. Luckily the local store can take it back in exchange for another machine. I have been crossfitting for the last 2 months and in general prefer outdoor running more to treadmill work however I would like to use the new machine in my workouts especially for the winter months.

Now both the elliptical and the rowing are available for the exchange. Firstly, which machine is better for the various crossfit WOD's? Secondly both machines are low/no impact...but can rowing cause again the back pain issue? Further to that what should I look for in both machines between the various goodies that they come with - I mean which are the most essential ones?

Thank you for any advise.

Regards
Emann
Old 05-15-2009, 01:29 PM   #2
Andy Gann

Profile:
Re: Equipment Advise - Elliptical bike vs Rowing Machine

You can't get a better machine for exercise than the Concept2 Rowing Machine ...
Old 05-15-2009, 02:15 PM   #3
Kevin Thomas

Profile:

Elliptical never comes up on a WOD, so you know what we will vote for. That said, I'll put a few things out there for you to consider.