CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 02-02-2009, 04:21 AM   #1
Edgar Gomez

Profile:
Question Paleo questions and pre/post workout foods.

I started paleo a few weeks ago, and part of me is saying that I should eat some wholemeal khobs bread, even though its not recommended as part of the paleo diet....which also brings me to milk, I also started SS by Rip roughly at the same time, and part of doing the SS is to drink 4 litres of milk, which again milk is not recommended as paleo....so at the moment Im very confused.

I am also studying to be a "personal trainer" and today we "learnt" that the best way to revive muscles and help them recover faster is by eating foods high in GI which helps them recover faster immediately after a workout, they said the best way to do this is through carbs, pasta, rice etch...whats the general conscientious when it comes to this as a "crossfitter"?

Also, whats a good paleo foods to eat before and after a workout?

ALSO, my reasearch also states that the paleo diet is similar to the atkins diet, high in protein low in carbs. I dont want to loose weight, I just want to get stronger and help my body recover faster...maybee Im thinking that paleo may not be the way to go after all?

Some "enlightenment" will be very appreciated, thanks.
Old 02-02-2009, 05:27 AM   #2
Jonathan Slater

Profile:
Re: Paleo questions and pre/post workout foods.

I'll answer as best I can:

1. Paleo is very much the way to go for health, and for recovery. In my opinion and many others. It's not necessarily high protein, and you can eat a lot of carbs if you wish to - but they're all natural, healthy carbs, nothing processed, which basically means you can eat a ton of them and not get tired/bloated/fat/slow/diabetic etc.