CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 08-05-2005, 07:14 AM   #1
William Hunter

Profile:
I've recently been trying to put together some track workouts to use as focus days. I have some experience with middle distance running (5k up to half-marathon) but had never done much sprinting until starting CF. While performing one of the 400m/50 squat WOD's on the local track, I was able to spy on the HS track team working out. They seemed to start with a mile run, then some 800's, 400's and then end with multiple 200's.

Is this how many coaches organize practice; starting with longer distances and then moving shorter and shorter? Yesterday I jogged about 3/4 mile, then ran 4 400's, 4 200's and then finished with a couple of 100's. Took me about 30 min. I'm also unsure about rest/work intervals.

Any thoughts or comments about specific workouts would be appreciated.
Old 08-05-2005, 03:54 PM   #2
Ross Hunt

Profile:
What distance do you want to be good at? 40 meters? 100? 200? 400? The long to short workout you're describing was very common in my training as a long distance runner; IMO, WOD-like circuits in conjunction with short sprints for foot/leg conditioning are a more time-efficient way of producing fitness in the events from 800 to 3200 meters.

If you want to be speedy Gonzales, you have to work speed first when you're fresh - warm-up at a low intensity, start short, and do the longer stuff afterwards. What does 'short' mean? Shorter than you think; if memory serves, Charlie Francis considers anything over 60 meters speed endurance rather than speed work. 0-30 meters is acceleration work, and 30-60 is the speed range, more or less.

You can get to Francis's site through a link on the CrossFit main page. It's a gold mine.