CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 08-23-2007, 08:18 AM   #1
Brian De Mio

Profile:
Walk a mile in 8 minutes.

Ok have an interesting question. This is kind of silly for most of you folks but I thought I would ask.

I'm new to this program and currently just learning form and function. So pretty much a newb to this. Anyway,

I was talking to a co-worker today feeling pretty "special" cause I ran out and tested my one mile sprint (trying to change over from the long distance arena).

It's taken me a couple months of training where I have it under the 8 minute mark.

My co-worker immediately burst whatever ego I was building when she told me her 75 y/o grandmother walks a 2.5 mile route in 20 minutes. I equate that to an 8 minute mile. And she is walking!

I was just wondering if any of you folks are seeing this with others in this age group. I think this is a pretty phenominal feat for 70 years old and someone who hasn't done any fitness training.

I know when I was in high school I'd do a fast walk home for 2 miles in about 15. But I was pretty close to running.
Old 08-23-2007, 08:35 AM   #2
Sean McCue

Profile:
Re: Walk a mile in 8 minutes.

That's one fast power-walking grandma. If she is doing a mile in under 8 minutes she isn't walking.
Old 08-23-2007, 09:22 AM   #3
Arden Cogar Jr.

Profile:

Whoa. One of my personal goals is to get to where I can jog under an 8 minute mile again. Right now, I'm in the 8s, but I only do it a few times a month. Knees kill if I do it anymore than that.

That's one fast grandma or one grandchild that truly doesn't have an appreciation to what they are discussing. One things for sure, if it's true, her walking gate is way faster than my jog.

All the best,
Arden
Old 08-23-2007, 09:25 AM   #4