CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 04-04-2007, 09:51 AM   #1
William Tokash

Profile:
Hi, I am new to CF and am hoping to get started soon. I just ordered my rings, but I have one big question from you experienced folks. I have searched the fourms and can not find an answer.

How do I mount or hang my rings from the ceiling? I see from some of your pictures that you either mount them over an I-beam, or on eyelettes drilled into the I-beam, but I dont have one of those in my house or garage.

Will the rings support my weight if I mount some eyelettes into a stud in the ceilling? How do you recommend I mount them and what size or gage eyelette should I use. The last thing I want is to fall on my head because the rings pulled out of the celing. I am about 180-185lbs.

Thanks.
Old 04-04-2007, 12:18 PM   #2
Jerry Berg

Profile:

i drilled holes and then put in 6in long 1/2in wide eye bolts. I bought some 300lb test clips from home depot to clip on the bolts. holds me like a charm and it makes the rings very easy to take up and down.
Old 04-04-2007, 02:55 PM   #3
William Tokash

Profile:
Did you drill thru your drywall into two studs in the ceiling and sink the eye bolts? So the rings will then be about 16" apart?

If not, how did you do it? Thanks.
Old 04-05-2007, 11:13 AM   #4
Jerry Berg

Profile:

that'd be the only way to do it. unless you want to rip down some dry wall and screw them into the sides of the ceiling joists. If you did that they would be more width adjustable, but i have a feeling you probably don't want to take down your ceiling.
Old 04-05-2007, 11:51 AM   #5
Kip Hanson

Profile:
I just recently mounted my rings in a finished garage (drywall on the ceiling).