CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 02-29-2004, 05:00 PM   #1
Roy

Profile:

I found a 300 pound olympic weight set for less than $100. Probably gonna be around $85 or so. I wanted to buy it for mainly olympic lifts, but I the more I do o lifts, the more my already anhialated wrist hurts. O-lifts are the best, but a third wrist surgery is just absolutely not worth it.

I've never used a kettlebell before or even seen one(except on the internet). How are kettlebells on the wrist joints? is there just as much range of motion required as with O-lifts? If not, then I might just rather invest in a few 53 pound kettlebells if I could find some cheap and/or used. The O set is obviously a better buy and I could do more with it, but all I do anymore is martial arts power related exercises and calisthenics/rings. I think I would benefit more with kettlebells, personally.

Does anybody have any info? I've tried ebay. Nothin.

Cheers

Roy
Old 02-29-2004, 06:18 PM   #2
Roy

Profile:

Better yet, is there any way to make a kettlebell or a similar device?
Old 02-29-2004, 06:28 PM   #3
Terry MILLER

Profile:
Roy,
I had a local machine shop fabricate a 54 lb kettlebell. They used solid round bar, which was 6 " in diameter, cut it in a 6" length and then welded a 12" length of 1" solid round stock, bent in a U shape, to the side of the bar. This gave me a 54 lb kettlebell and cost $100.00 (Canadian funds).

Terry
Old 02-29-2004, 06:51 PM   #4
Kris Freeman

Profile:
Roy I have been looking into cheaper alternatives to kettlebells (im cheap). I found a site in Canada that sells kettlebell handles that you put weights on, which means it's adjustable! It's not garbage or super expensive like the Ironmind ones that I have seen. It looks awesome!