CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Competitions
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Competitions Competitions, contests & challenges

Old 12-27-2005, 01:10 PM   #1
Chad Cross

Profile:  
Hi everyone. I have been doing crossfit for about five months now and it has changed my life. I am in the best shape I have ever been.

I have always thought it might be fun to try a marathon. The LA marathon is in March and I was thinking of giving it a shot. I have been wondering lately if I could do it without training for it. I would of course continue with Crossfit but I wouldn't do any marathon specific training.

I wanted to get everyones thoughts. Do you think Crossfit is enough to finish a marathon without dying or injuring myself? I am not trying to run a competitive time. I would be happy with anything under 5 hours. I just want to finish it.

What do you think? I have discussed it with a friend that has run marathons and he thinks I am crazy. But he doesn't do Crossfit.

All thoughts would be welcome. I haven't made this decision for sure yet. I have just been contemplating it. I am in no rush either. I could easily wait until next year.
Old 12-27-2005, 03:55 PM   #2
Chris Goodrich

Profile:
Chad,
I wouldn't recommend going that distance without at least some preparatory endurance work. That's a lot of pounding on the lower body, and Crossfit doesn't give you enough running volume to adapt to it. I'd be worried about stress fractures and joint and muscle injuries. Just the friction inside your shoes will tear your feet up pretty good over that distance, then you change your stride to compensate, and end up with a worse injury. I'd say lower the distance (half-marathon tops, 10k or 15k would be better)or build up at least some distance running beforehand. Chris
Old 12-27-2005, 07:19 PM   #3
Kalen Meine

Profile: