CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 02-23-2011, 10:24 AM   #1
Preston Sprimont

Profile:
midline stability

I have a question about midline stability and the core muscles that should be engaged when lifting--specifically squatting, deadlifting, cleaning, snatching.

Obviously you want everything in the abdominals and back to be tight and braced for the load, but I've heard a couple of different "cues" as to how to brace properly. I've heard two largely conflicting ideas for bracing the lower core: 1) push the abs out and get the low back tight; and 2) bring the abdominals in (bellybutton to spine) and then get the low back tight.

So, better to bring the abs in or push the abs out?

I'm still a linearly progressing beginner, so I haven't really found my niche in the squat form that feels just right to me... thus this question.

Hopefully I'm not overthinking this.
Old 02-23-2011, 11:46 AM   #2
Nalin Prabhu

Profile:
Re: midline stability

Personally, I've never heard anyone cue the lifter to suck their gut in.

It's always been take a DEEP breath and hold it.
Old 02-23-2011, 11:47 AM   #3
Ben Moore

Profile:

Louie Simmons supports pushing the abs out (typically against a belt in his case).
Old 02-23-2011, 01:22 PM   #4
Steven Low

Profile:

Big breath to depress the diaphragm. This shrinks/tightens the intraabdominal space.

Then you want to basically contract your muscles against this outward force which tightens the abs/obliques/TVA and starts tightening the fascia in the lumbar spine. Some say pull belly button to spine... eh, Idon't like that analogy that much. Your body should really automatically do this anyway just focus on proper technique.