CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Competitions
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Competitions Competitions, contests & challenges

Old 11-30-2015, 02:56 PM   #1
Victor J McQuaide

Profile:
Training styles

Would be looking for input on some training tools and gauges.

Waking heart rate- Does anyone use this for a judge of recovery- get a basis for what the average is. If it higher than usual maybe take a day off or do active recovery? If its low then go hard.

Working heart rates- does anyone train on percentages with Row, run, air dyne or assault bikes.. met cons or maxes. Find the max heart rate and train by the %. Many endurance athletes do this.

*** Keep in mind I am not an expert*** Don't flame me Sean..
Back to the loss of weight and getting your body to consume fat while working out and resting thru ketosis. My last sports guru had us do workouts that programed of sort to get your body to burn the fatty acids or calories for fuel. Depleting the glycogen in your system.
He called it "Turn your body into a Diesel".
No eating calories in the am. We used exercise bikes and had our heart rate monitors. Start at a pace that put you at between 120-130 beats per min. Keep at that pace. Keep in mind that the pace had to be able to be measured example 18 mph on the bike.. when your body had to work harder to maintain the speed the workout would end. A 10-15 bpm rise would trigger the end of the workout. Essentially causing a BONK status. This could take between 45 min to 90 min depending on what you ate the night prior or when you did this in the AM. You deplete the glycogen then the body is forced to grab fat at 9 calories per gram vs. 4 cal for carb/protein. For us fat sprinter types you did this getting into the season. If you had a 5 lb fat loss you did this one time per week. If you had to accomplish a 10 lb fat loss you did this 2xs per week.